Ian O'Rourke Scholarship in Patient Safety

Prize: GrantSuccessful


The NSW Clinical Excellence Commission invites applications from suitably qualified
and highly motivated graduates to undertake a program of full time health services
research to improve patient safety and quality in indigenous health. It is envisaged
that the research would culminate in the award of a PhD.
The scholarship is named in honour of the late Dr Ian O’Rourke AO, Chief Executive
Officer of the Institute for Clinical Excellence, in his many roles in health as a
surgeon, educator, academic and researcher. Dr O’Rourke was passionate about
the work he undertook with Aboriginal communities, at the Redfern Medical Centre,
in far north Queensland, and in the Northern Territory where he worked for five years.
Degree of recognitionRegional
Granting OrganisationsClinical Excellence Commission