MAMA Art Foundation National Photographic Prize (Finalist)

  • Farley, James (Recipient)

    Prize: External prize


    Founded in 1983, the MAMA Art Foundation National Photographic Prize is Australia’s oldest photography prize.The acquisitive, biennale award was first staged at Albury Arts Centre, which became the Albury Art Gallery, and is now the Murray Art Museum Albury (MAMA), establishing a strong focus on photography within the museum’s collection.The 2018 National Photographic Prize offers a $30,000 acquisitive first prize, courtesy of the generous support of the MAMA Art Foundation. In addition, the John & Margaret Baker Memorial Fellowship offers $5000 to an outstanding emerging Australian artist.Since the first daguerreotype was produced in the late 1830s, photography’s relatively short history has been one of flux and change, commercial use and critical distance, institutional acceptance and now complete ubiquity.Artists working across all areas of the photographic field were encouraged to apply for the 2018 National Photographic Prize; extending the artists considered from those working in traditional forms of light based, chemical production through to artists dealing with hybrid and expanded fields of photography and image making.12 artists have been selected as finalists in this year's prize, with each artist contributing a series of works to the exhibition.Amanda Williams, Caroline Rothwell, Ioulia Terizis, Izabela Pluta, James T. Farley, James Tylor, Kieran Butler, Lynne Roberts-Goodwin, Tim Silver, Todd McMillan, Tully Arnot, Val Wens.The 2018 National Photography Prize will be awarded by guest judge, Isobel Parker Philip, Curator Photographs, Art Gallery of NSW.
    Degree of recognitionNational
    Granting OrganisationsMAMA Art Foundation