Newcastle Poetry Prize 2021

Prize: External prize


"First Prize $15,000 Lachlan Brown for 'Any Saturday, 2021: Running Westward’"

"The Newcastle Poetry Prize is one of the major events on the literary calendar in Australia, bringing entries from across the nation. Each year, local and national poets compete with internationally recognised names such as Peter Porter, Les Murray, Bruce Dawe, Anthony Lawrence, Mark Tredinnick, Lily Brett, Robert Adamson and Judith Beveridge.

No less illustrious has been the list of judges casting their eye over the entries, including Christopher Pollintz, Peter Porter, Chris Wallace-Crabbe, Paul Kavanagh, Les Murray, Dame Leonie Kramer, Fay Zwicky, Dorothy Hewett, Antigone Kefala and Robert Gray, Kim Cheng-Boey, Jennifer Harrison, Mark Tredinnick and Anna Kerdijk-Nicholson.
Coordinated by the Hunter Writers Centre since 2002, the Newcastle Poetry Prize is a significant cultural achievement and is a testament to the commitment of its sponsor – the University of Newcastle – to celebrate literary excellence in Australia.

Prize pool
One of the most lucrative poetry prizes in Australia, the Newcastle Poetry Prize offers a $25,000 prize pool with a first place award of $15,000, a second prize of $5,000 and third prize of $1,000. In addition, the $500 Local Award is given to a poet who resides in the Hunter Region. For young poets, The Harri Jones Memorial Prize awards $500 for the best poem by a poet under the age of 36."
Degree of recognitionNational
Granting OrganisationsHunter Writers Centre