Creating a unique taxonomy for Australasian Paramedic Clinical Guidelines

Sonja Maria, Marc Colbeck

Research output: Other contribution to conferencePresentation onlypeer-review


There are 10 state-run ambulance services in Australia and New Zealand, all of which are members of the Council of Ambulance Authorities (CAA). These CAA services use nine unique sets of clinical practice guidelines (CPGs) to direct the care that their paramedics deliver to patients. Although there are many similarities in these guidelines there are also notable differences in both structure and content. This paper is a comparative analysis of these CAA CPGs that contrasts the differences in organisation and also discusses the similarities and differences between the various CPGs themselves. This comparison was done as a preparatory exercise for the creation of a set of national CPGs by Paramedics Australasia.
Original languageEnglish
Publication statusPublished - 12 Jun 2019
EventInternational Conference on Emergency Medicine: ICEM - Coex, Seoul, Korea, Democratic People's Republic of
Duration: 12 Jun 201915 Jun 2019
Conference number: 18 (program book)


ConferenceInternational Conference on Emergency Medicine
Abbreviated titleEmergency Medicine
Country/TerritoryKorea, Democratic People's Republic of
Internet address


Dive into the research topics of 'Creating a unique taxonomy for Australasian Paramedic Clinical Guidelines'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this