Ramsar convention typology of wetlands

    Research output: Book chapter/Published conference paperChapter in textbook/reference bookpeer-review

    8 Citations (Scopus)


    The Ramsar Convention's typology of wetlands was adopted in 1990 along with an information sheet for describing Ramsar sites. The typology was loosely based on the Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater Habitats of the United States and referred to the definition of wetlands adopted by the Convention in 1972. Given the breadth of the definition, the classification covers a wider range of wetland types than many others. The typology comprises three broad groups of wetlands: marine and coastal; inland; and human-made. Within each group, there are a number of types, totaling 42 in all. The purpose of the typology is to provide a broad framework to assist in the rapid identification of the main wetland habitats represented at each Ramsar site.
    Original languageEnglish
    Title of host publicationThe wetland book I
    Subtitle of host publicationStructure and function, management and methods
    EditorsC. Max Finlayson, Mark Everard, Kenneth Irvine, Robert J. McInnes, Beth A. Middleton, Anne A. van Dam, Nick C. Davidson
    Place of PublicationThe Netherlands
    Number of pages4
    ISBN (Electronic)9789048196593
    ISBN (Print)9789048134939, 9789400714717
    Publication statusPublished - 2018


    Dive into the research topics of 'Ramsar convention typology of wetlands'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

    Cite this